To DIY or not to DIY?

“Don’t buy that—we can make that.”  Apparently, I say this a lot at Hobby Lobby, Target, Container Store, and other fine retail establishments—much to the chagrin of Casey and Katie J., who essentially break their necks in attempting the world’s most exaggerated eye roll.  What can I say?  I like to DIY, and I get so much more satisfaction out of cute things when I make them myself.  Plus, I truly do love to knit, crochet, sew, embroider, etch glass, paper-craft, upcycle, and do other crafty and creative things.  I get my love of crafting from my mother, AKA the Martha Stewart of Central Wisconsin.

DIY brides have a serious advantage in wedding planning, because they aren’t subject to the exorbitant prices charged by printers, florists, and other wedding vendors/petty thieves who jack up their prices when the word “wedding” is mentioned.  When I discussed our wedding budget with Melissa, my jaw dropped at least five times when I heard how much some of these elements were going to cost us.  I rarely spend more than $30 on an item of clothing, so when I looked at the prices of wedding dresses, I very nearly threw up.

On the other hand, I work, take graduate classes, and I’m teaching a class in the fall, so an entirely DIY wedding was out of the question from the start.  Planning a wedding is a full-time job, and I certainly don’t want anything to slip through the cracks because I took on more projects than I could handle.

Even so, I’m finding that the elements of my wedding that I’m most excited about are the ones that are DIY.  Things like the postage stamps and address labels that my oh-so-talented brother created, many of my bridesmaids’ gifts, the place cards, favor boxes, hotel welcome bags, and others are the small, extra special touches that will pull our entire wedding together and leave a lasting impression.

So I’m going to DIY a lot of things, but I’m also really trying to stay sane and be realistic. I do want to actually enjoy planning our wedding, and I want to make sure that Sol and I have a fun and memorable engagement that’s not completely consumed with ribbons and hot glue.

Disclaimer:  This post is complete speculation.  There is a very real possibility that, at the three-month mark, I will end up covered in ribbons and hot glue with tears streaming down my face and Sol cowering in a corner.

Leave a Reply

